Mon majhi

“Mon majhi”* is a methaphor! “Mon” is the mind. “majhi” is a boatman. “Mon majhi” is the one who steers our mind. Without Him we are lost.
“Mon majhi” is an intense love song in Bengali, that depicts the internal struggle of a lover’s mind.   Arijit Singh’s  melodious voice and powerful rendition reverberate in the heart of every listener.

মনে মেঘ জমতে জমতে থাকে
পড় যাই দুর্বিপাকে  ....
Mone megh jomte thake
Pore jai durbipake (x2)

Dark clouds crowd my mind
And I fall into the trap

চিন্তা তে তোর্ , কাটছে  প্রহর 
শান্তি নাই এই যন্ত্রণার 
Chinta te tor, katche prohor
Santi nei e jontronar

Every hour is going by
with you on my mind
There is no relief
from this torture!

মন মাঝি রে বল না কথায় 
মন মাঝি রে আই  ফিরে আই 
Mon majhi re, bol na kothay
Mon majhi re, ay phire ay
আই ফিরে আই .....
Ay phire ay, ay phire ay(2X2)

Mon majhi*, please tell me where to find you
Mon majhi*, please come back to me
Please come back to me.

একা রাত বাকা চাঁদ 
লাগেনা ভালো রে আর  ....
Eka raat baka chand
Lage na valo re aar
নেই রোধ নাই রং 
জানি নেই কিছু ই করার 
Nai rodh nai rong
Jani nei kichue korar (x2)

On lonely nights, the crescent moon
does not look beautiful
There’s no sunshine, there’s no color
There’s nothing I can do to feel better

পরছে মনে মুখের আদল 
ভাঙ্গে বুক ভাংছে পাহাড় 
Porche mone mukher adol
Vange bukh, vangche pahar

The shape of your face is
etched in my memory
It breaks my heart
Mountains of burden break down in tears

মন মাঝি রে বল না কথায় 
মন মাঝি রে আই  ফিরে আই 
Mon majhi re, bol na kothay
Mon majhi re, ai phire ai

Mon majhi*, please tell me where to find you
Mon majhi*, please come back to me
Please come back to me.

নিজেকে মনে হয় 
বলে দিই এ সব ই ভুল
ঝরে ঝাক পরে ঝাক
আদরে ফোটানো ফুল
Nijeke mone hoy,
bole dei ei sobi bhul
Jhore jak pore jak
Aadore fotano phool (x2)

I feel like telling myself
This is all a mistake
Let the flower,
that bloomed with my love
Wither away and fall off

চিন্তা তে তোর্ , কাটছে  প্রহর 
শান্তি নাই এই যন্ত্রণার 
Chintate tor katche prohor
Santi nei e jontronar
মন মাঝি রে বল না কথায় 
মন মাঝি রে আই  ফিরে আই 
Mon majhi re, bol na kothay
Mon majhi re, ay phire ay
আই ফিরে আই .....
Ay phire ay, ay phire ay (2X2)

Every hour is going by
with you on my mind
There is no relief
from this torture!
Mon majhi*, please tell me where to find you
Mon majhi*, please come back to me
Please come back to me.

 

Leave a Reply

