The republic of Macedonia, formed in 1991, is a country in the Balkan Peninsula, northwest of Greece. From 2019 onward, it is officially known as the republic of North Macedonia. It’s neighboring countries are Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece and Albania. It was formerly a part of Yugoslavia. The major ethnicity of Macedonia is Slavic.

In 4th century BC, the ancient kingdom of Macedonia spanned across parts of Greece and the Balkan Peninsula under the rule of king Philip II in BC 336, when he was assassinated. Under his son, Alexander the Great, Macedonia became the largest empire in the world. Alexander ruled for a short span of 12 years and died in Babylon( modern Iraq), due to unknown causes.

The name Macedonia has a subliminal association with the historical greatness of Alexander. The Hellenistic period (323 BC to 31BC), which is the period following the death of Alexander till the rise of the Roman empire, saw tremendous advances in the field of Art, Science and Philosophy and laid the foundation stones of every form of modern Western knowledge.

Current North Macedonia has a population of 2.08 million, composed of 72% Christians, 28% Muslims and a handful of Jews. The official language of the republic of North Macedonia is the Eastern South Slavic language. The country ranks at 40th position in terms of GDP in the European region. The capital city of North Macedonia is Skopje, which also happens to be the birth place of Mother Teresa, who conquered the world with her love..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s