Bhakti Manifestations

Divine love or devotion may manifest itself in the following 11 flavors.

1. Gunamahatmaskti – Such a devotee is praising all the qualities of the Divine. Small things are a wonderful. A simple glance brings the heaven to the devotee. They always talk about or singing the glories of Divine.

2. Rupasakti – The Divine form is imprinted in the mind of the devotee. An artist is born within the devotee. They write poems, make paintings or create music or sculpture describing the unfathomable beauty. Divine is manifested in various forms. . Honoring the forms is one form of devotion. Adore one form at a time and surrender to it. To fathom the formless you move through devotion to a form.

3. Poojasakti – Worship is born out of the feeling of completeness.This a way to express the love. There are different rituals of expressing the gratitude. The devotees offer water, fruit, flowers, light a deep and finally themselves. The purpose of worship is also to feel complete.

4. Smaranasakti – The devotee is remembering Divine constantly. Feeling grateful for what you have have received from the Divine. Rejoicing the memory of the connection. This comes very naturally. When you remember the Divine day and night all other things appear trivial. There is no space in the mind for other thoughts.

5. Dasasakti – The devotee has an attitude of a servant. The servant gives every drop of his existence to his Master. He is shifting all the responsibility to the Divine. So the servant feels free. This attitude that the devotee are serving divine, gives him great power. Like Hanuman, the devotees receive great capacity to serve. Their joy lie in this act of serving the Divine. A Guru is, in fact, serving his followers as well.

6. Sakhaskti -The devotee sees the Divine as his companion or dear friend. They tell everything to the friend. Open up and share all that they have. They feel close to the divine.

7. Vatsalyasakti – Some devotees are parenting the Divine. Krishna is worshiped as Gopal. Parents feel close to the kids. The devotees think of them day and night, considering the divine as their baby. A mother is in love with her kid. She looses sleep to nurse her baby. She serves with out complaining without getting anything any return.

8. Kantaasakti – The devotees consider the Divine as their lover or spouse. Monks and nuns feel they are married to the Divine.

9. Atmanivedanaskti – The devotee offers the whole being/ the self to the divine.

10. Tanmayataskti – The whole being of the devotee is absorbed in the divine. No more room left. They do not exist as a separate entity. There is total oneness just like the hand is part of you. You do not say hand is not part of me. Divinity becomes part of the devotee. In sleep one is totally absorbed in the divine.

11. Kamanaskti – Devotees experience intense longing. If there is no longing if there is no love. If there is love, there must be longing.

All these flavors of love can come to the same devotee at different times or only one flavor may be present for another devotee. No flavor is better than the other. Sometimes kids argue over which flavor is the best. But there is no best flavor. Chocolate may be my favorite flavor while strawberry may be your favorite flavor. But that is just a personal preference or inclination.

A deep devotee is a little crazy. They take a stance and do not care about others. This is necessary in order to blossom fully. Honest sharing of your inner thoughts is essential to blossom. Idea of being proper is restrictive. Then there is no expression of love. The devotee is not afraid of expressing their love. The learned people (Jnanis) differ in their opinions. Devotees feel unified. People are afraid of emotions as it brings longing and deeply hurt by people you love. Love makes one vulnerable. This over protection drags one towards inertia. In interia one become like a machine. Because of fear of hurt , they avoid being emotional. Meera says that divine love is blissful pain. Love is a storm of emotions. The path of yoga avoids the misery. In the path of love, none of that matters. The joy is more than the inconvenience caused by it. Mother wakes up when the baby cries. Mother ignores the pain because the love fills her heart.
When you take refuge in Bhakti, there are challenges. There will be all types of people. Some you naturally like. Others you will not like. One needs to adjust to all situation and expect appreciation / respect. One should keep the equanimity . One who has faith in the rules of devotion explained by Maharishi Narada attains the beloved and experiences divine love. A number of devotional figures from Puranic scriptures are quoted as being agreement with the truth of the process given, including: KumarasVyasaŚukaSandilyaGargaVishnuKaundinyaSeshaUddhavaAruniBaliHanuman and Vibhishana.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s