Lost Heart

It was a Friday morning. I woke up early, as usual for a weekday. I was excited for the weekend. I turned my head towards the bathroom mirror, spanning across the wall. “Aaaaa…!”. I noticed that my right ear was missing the earring. The earring was a heart-shaped pattern in white gold, a heart in a heart, with little diamonds along the inner one. It was very lovely gift from my husband.

My heart sank when I realized that I lost it. I had a hard time accepting this and letting it GO.

As a young wife, I had given much importance to the material manifestations of my husband’s love for me. Losing the beautiful earring came to me as a bad omen. “Was I really loved?”

Many years later, the gift of love has walked straight into my heart by the grace of Almighty. I sat next to him on the sofa, doing nothing –just listening to his heartbeat. We cherished the intimate moments of togetherness, now knowing how precious it is — not to be taken for granted.

I realized sometimes we have to lose small things to gain the much bigger magnificent ones.

Leave a comment